Thick and Quick

Thick and quick. No I’m not talking about how you want your ice cream.  I’m talking about every hooker’s favorite thing, yarn!

 

Walmart yarn shopping spree!

Walmart yarn shopping spree!

During one of our rare trips to Walmart,  as I was perusing the baby clothes the Man uttered my favorite sentence ‘we could buy some yarn’. Whew! Let me tell you, his sexy rating went up by 2! Adorable baby stuff instantly forgotten, I rushed over to the craft section where both he and I were delighted to see Lion Brand’s “hometown USA” line was on sale!
For those of you who haven’t seen this yet it is a super bulky yarn similar to their “thick and quick”. Ultra squooshy,  which is, I think, what finally convinced the Man that he wanted me to make him a hat out of it. You bet! I’m always delighted to do special requests for him and the fact that he was picking out his own yarn made it that much better!

We selected a pattern specifically for that type of yarn from Lion Brand’s website.  It is a basic slouchy beany pattern that is basically a bunch of hdc’s worked in the round until it’s the desired length. Simple right? Well this yarn makes it amazing.

image

The Man has a slightly bigger head so I upped the foundation chain by 5. I got a few rows up and quickly ran into a problem, I was running out of yarn! I never imagined a hat would take more then one skein but I’d also never worked with such thick yarn either! Guess I’m off to the store for more yarn! I just hope I can find the same color. I will certainly post pictures when it’s all done. For now, here is baby L modeling my W.I.P.

image

Have you ever run put of yarn unexpectedly?  We’re you able to get more?

3 thoughts on “Thick and Quick

  1. Pingback: Thick and Quick 2 | Crunchy Crochet

Leave a Reply

